A Thousand Horses Releases Their Road-Tested Debut Album, “Southernality”

Republic Nashville

A Thousand Horses first caught your ear with their #1 debut hit, “Smoke,” and now they’re following it up with their first full-length album, Southernality. The band members wrote all 13 songs on the album among themselves and a tight circle of songwriters in Nashville.

A Thousand Horses lead singer Michael Hobby tells ABC Radio, “These are guys we’ve known for a long time in town and always have written with. They’re all good buddies. So, it’s definitely cool to say, ‘Yeah, we wrote our record.’ That’s why it sounds like that is because it’s us, you know.”

The songs on Southernality were written over the last few years as the band played show after show. Seeing how the crowd reacted to the songs played a big role in determining which songs would stay in the show from night to night.

“One of the great benefits of being a band is we were able to go out and road-test songs,” says band member Bill Satcher. “Like, write songs, go out and play ’em four, five, six times, kind of work the kinks out over the couple years we were getting going.”

In addition to playing hundreds of shows, A Thousand Horses spent a lot of time in the studio learning how to record what they’d created on stage.  

Michael says of those early, independent recordings, “We released a few EPs that we’d throw together some money and try to go record and put those out, but it all led to this album.”

A Thousand Horses is releasing “(This Ain’t No) Drunk Dial” as the second single from Southernality.

Here’s the Southernality track list:

“First Time”
“Sunday Morning”
“(This Ain’t No) Drunk Dial”
“Heaven Is Close”
“Travelin’ Man”
“Back to Me”
“Tennessee Whiskey”
“Hell on My Heart”
“Trailer Trashed”
“Where I’m Going”

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.