Don Henley to Release Solo Country Album, “Cass County,” in September; Solo Tour to Follow

Capitol Records

Don Henley‘s long-in-the-works country album, Cass County, will be released September 25, and the Eagles singer/drummer will support it with a North American tour that kicks off in October.  The record, which features guest appearances by Mick Jagger, Dolly Parton, Merle Haggard, Miranda Lambert, Alison Krauss, Vince Gill, Martina McBride and others, will be available in a variety of configurations, including 12-track standard CD and digital versions, and 16-song deluxe CD, digital and two-disc vinyl editions.

A super deluxe version also will be sold exclusively via Henley’s online store, and features the deluxe CD and double-vinyl set, collectible postcards, and a 50-page booklet containing new photos.  In addition, a variety of limited-edition bundles featuring a Henley T-shirt and lithograph will be available.

If you pre-order digital versions of Cass County via iTunes, you’ll immediately be able to download two of the albums tracks — “All Songs Considered” and “Take a Picture of This” — for free.

Henley co-produced Cass County with ex-Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers drummer Stan Lynch, with whom he co-wrote 11 of the record’s songs.  The album, which is named for the northeastern Texas county where Henley grew up, was recorded mostly in Nashville and Dallas.

You can watch a promotional trailer featuring snippets of several songs and commentary by Henley at his official YouTube channel.

“This album is a reflection of the sounds and the textures and the images I’ve carried with me for 67 years,” says Henley in the clip.  “It’s rooted in the rural America I knew, and it’s a nod to my native turf in Texas.  The family, the friends, the neighbors and the country side.”

Henley’s solo tour will visit cities across North America, including in Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Los Angeles, Nashville, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Toronto and Washington, D.C.  Dates will be announced soon.  Singer/songwriter Shawn Colvin will open all the shows.  If you purchase tickets to any of the concerts, you’ll receive a free copy of the deluxe Cass County CD.

Here’s the track list for the deluxe version of the album:

“Bramble Rose” (featuring Mick Jagger & Miranda Lambert)
“The Cost of Living” (featuring Merle Haggard)
“No, Thank You”
“Waiting Tables”
“Take a Picture of This”
“Too Far Gone”*
“That Old Flame” (featuring Martina McBride)
“The Brand New Tennessee Waltz”*
“Words Can Break Your Heart”
“When I Stop Dreaming” (featuring Dolly Parton)
“Praying for Rain”
“Too Much Pride”*
“She Sang Hymns Out of Tune”*
“Train in the Distance”
“A Younger Man”
“Where I Am Now”

* = not included on the standard version.

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.