How Jake Owen’s Divorce Led Him to “American Love”

RCA Nashville

Jake Owen’s fifth studio album, American Love, is on the way July 29, featuring his top-20 hit, “American Country Love Song,” plus ten new tracks. For the first time ever, Jake co-produced three of the cuts himself. In many ways, he says the record feels like a new beginning.

“Over the past few years I’ve experienced the unexpected. My dad received a cancer diagnosis and I, unfortunately, went through a divorce. People probably thought I would record songs that reflected those difficult times, but I found myself gravitating toward songs that had more of a positive vibe and actually made me feel better by singing them. Music truly does seem to help the healing process,” he reflects.

Chris Stapleton contributes background vocals to one song, while Jake also had a hand in writing the tune “LAX.”

Here’s the complete track listing for American Love:

“American Love”
“After Midnight”
“Where I Am”
“Everybody Dies Young”
“VW Van”
“Good Company”
“If He Ain’t Gonna Love You”
“When You Love Someone”
“You Ain’t Going Nowhere”
“American Country Love Song”

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.