Martina McBride Gets “Reckless” with Thirteenth Studio Album and New Music Video

Nash Icon Records

Martina McBride’s first country album in nearly five years is on its way April 29. Her thirteenth studio set, Reckless, takes its title from its lead single, and is her first recording since 2014’s collection of R&B favorites, Everlasting. It’s her first country effort since Eleven in 2011.

“This album feels so good! That’s the best way I can describe it,” she says of the recording made at Nashville’s Blackbird Studios, which she owns with her husband John. “I spent a lot of time finding songs that felt personal to me. I figure if I can relate to them someone else will too. There are songs about love, life, hope, loss, leaving and coming home.”

The four-time CMA Female Vocalist of the Year believes she’s managed to propel her sound forward, while also maintaining the qualities that have made her one of country’s most well-respected singers.

“That’s what making this album felt like to me…coming home. We took our time and just let the songs and production develop…Somehow we captured a sound that feels like the music I’ve done my whole career and yet fresh at the same time.”

You can check out Martina being a bit “Reckless,” giving herself a haircut and doing some questionable painting, in the video for her new single, which was filmed on location in Watertown, Tennessee.

Here’s the complete track listing for Reckless:

“It Ain’t Pretty”
“Just Around the Corner”
“Everybody Wants to Be Loved”
“Low All Afternoon”
“That’s the Thing About Love”
“The Real Thing”
“We’ll Pick Up Where We Left Off”
“You and You Alone”

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.