Pop Stars to Transform “Girl Crush,” While Darius Pays Tribute to Blake on CMT’s “Artists of the Year”


It’ll be “Girl Crush” as you’ve never heard it before, when pop stars Adam Lambert and Leona Lewis pay tribute to Little Big Town Wednesday night on CMT’s annual Artists of the Year special. Darius Rucker will get some help from Cassadee Pope and RaeLynn, as the former members of Team Blake join the Hootie & the Blowfish frontman to honor the winningest coach on The Voice, performing Blake Shelton’s hit “Neon Light.” Luke Bryan, Sam Hunt and Florida Georgia Line step into the spotlight as CMT’s other 2015 honorees.

This year, CMT is also handing out several special awards. Kenny Rogers is the Artist of a Lifetime, while Chris Stapleton gets the Breakout Award after his incredible night at last month’s CMAs. The cable channel will also give the cast of ABC’s Nashville its first-ever International Impact Award.

Dolly Parton, Dan Rather, Lady Antebellum’s Hillary Scott, Trace Adkins and Kellie Pickler will all offer tributes and toasts, in the 90-minute special that airs live from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center. You can catch it at 8 p.m. ET on CMT.

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.