They may be “Taking the Long Way,” but there are six new Dixie Chicks tracks coming


The Dixie Chicks haven’t made a new record since 2006’s Grammy-winning Taking the Long Way, but next month, they’ll be back with new music.

While it’s not a studio album, DCX MMXVI captures the trio’s successful 2016/2017 tour live, complete with at least six covers they’ve never recorded before: 

Sinead O’Connor’s 1990 hit written by Prince, “Nothing Compares 2 U”

–Singer/songwriter Patty Griffin’s “Don’t Let Me Die in Florida”

Beyonce’s “Daddy Lessons,” which they performed with her on last year’s CMA Awards

Bob Dylan’s “Mississippi”

–Singer/songwriter Ben Harper’s “Better Way”

–“Something in the Air,” the 1969 hit from British rock band, Thunderclap Newman, which was produced by The Who’s Pete Townshend.

You’ll also be able to watch DCX MMXVI digitally, or on DVD or Blu-Ray. You can pre-order the project now exclusively through Amazon Music, ahead of its September 1 release.

Here’s the complete track listing for the audio version of the Dixie Chicks’ DCX MMXVI:

“The Long Way Around”
“Lubbock or Leave It”
“Truth No. 2”
“Easy Silence”
“Long Time Gone”
“Nothing Compares 2 U”
“Top of the World”
“Something in the Air”
“Goodbye Earl”
“Travelin’ Soldier” (Acoustic)
“Don’t Let Me Die in Florida” (Acoustic)
“Daddy Lessons” (Acoustic)
“White Trash Wedding” (Acoustic)
“Bluegrass Instrumental”
“Ready to Run”
“Cowboy Take Me Away”
“Wide Open Spaces”
“Sin Wagon”
“Not Ready to Make Nice”
“Better Way”

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.