Willie, Vince and Emmylou Join Cyndi Lauper for Her Country “DETOUR”

Sire Records

“Girls Just Want to Have Fun” icon Cyndi Lauper makes her country music debut on her new album DETOUR, due out May 6. Along the way, she got the seal approval from Country Music Hall of Famers Willie Nelson, Vince Gill and Emmylou Harris, who all join her on the new project.

While the collection of country covers is a definite change of direction for the Grammy, Emmy and Tony winner, it turns out it’s not very far from her roots.

“When I was a really young kid, country music was pop music, so this is what we grew up listening to,” she recalls. “These songs are part of some of my earliest memories so it has been an absolute thrill to revisit them.”

Vince helps the eighties icon recreate Loretta Lynn and Conway Twitty’s comical duet “You’re the Reason Our Kids are Ugly,” while Jewel shows off her yodeling prowess on “I Want to Be a Cowboy’s Sweetheart.” Alison Krauss guests on Cyndi’s remake of Dolly Parton’s hit “Hard Candy Christmas,” which was released as a single just before the holiday.

Cyndi also recorded a pair of classics from a particular favorite.

“I spent a lot of time in my room singing with Patsy. I had to sing a Patsy Cline song — or two– because her voice was like one of my girlfriends. That’s how close I felt to her,” she reminisces.

Here’s the complete track listing for DETOUR, which will also be pressed on vinyl, in addition to being released in the usual digital formats:

“Funnel of Love”
“Detour” (featuring Emmylou Harris)
“Misty Blue”
“Walkin’ After Midnight”
“Heartaches by the Number”
“The End of the World”
“Night Life” (featuring Willie Nelson)
“Begging to You”
“You’re the Reason Our Kids Are Ugly” (featuring Vince Gill)
“I Fall to Pieces”
“I Want to Be a Cowboy’s Sweetheart” (featuring Jewel)
“Hard Candy Christmas” (featuring Alison Krauss)

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.