Undated—The 2016 municipal election day can be summed up with the familiar phrase, “you win some, you lose some.” In Carbondale, voters welcomed three new trustees to the town board. Former Glenwood Springs City Councilman Dan Richardson will be joined by Marty Silverstein and Ben Bohmfalk. Eight candidates in all were battling for the three open seats. Carbondale voters however, surprisingly, rejected two tax questions on the ballot. The so-called “carbon tax” was voted down decisively 1,022 to 637. The tax would have raised monthly gas and electric rates to expedite the town’s efforts toward more renewable energy. Voters also rejected a mill levy increase to fund town infrastructure projects. In Basalt, Mayor Jacque Whitsitt narrowly defeated Rick Stevens. Auden Schendler, Katie Schwoerer and Jennifer Riffle were the top vote getters for the three at-large seats. In New Castle, voters chose two locals who are longtime locals but newcomers to the political scene, Graham Riddle and Grady Hazelton. They’ll join the only incumbent to be re-elected, Mary Metzger. In Silt, incumbent Keith Richel was entrusted with another term in office. T.J. Tucker, who was recently appointed to finish out a term, gained voters’ confidence to win a fresh, four year term while newcomer Dina Prieto captured the third remaining open seat on the town board. At the western end of Garfield County, Parachute voters decided to forgive and forget by defeating the recall effort of Mayor Roy Mclung as well as trustees Tim Olk and Tom Ruggard. The three faced being booted from office for theier support of the retail marijuana industry. Mayor Pro-tem Juanita Williams was re-elected as well as John Loshke and Travis Sproles.